Yarragon Primary School fosters leadership through School Captains, House Captains and Junior School Council. 

The Junior School Council meets to assist the safe running of the school and in particular the students.

In 2019, Yarragon Primary School has registered as a Resource Smart school and has selected students from across all grade levels to take part in the new school 'Green Team'. This team will work with Mrs Kalinda Grant and representatives of Resource Smart to develop initiatives in our school that promote sustainability and ecological awareness.


2020 School Captains

Our School Captains are chosen through a voting process involving our Grade 3-6 students. 

Our School Captains for 2020 are: 

Ethan Smith & Courtney McWhinney 

Our Vice Captains for 2020 are: 

Ella Jackson & Will Maclean

2020 House Captains

At Yarragon Primary School we have 4 School Houses. These are Fisher (Blue), Sanders (Red), Stoneman (Yellow) and Simpson (Green). 


Our House Captains for 2020 

Fisher: Levi Kalan & Mischa Moore 

Sanders: Bella Halliday & Nate McCrorey 

Stoneman: Finlay Wirken & Lukques van de Burgt

Simpson: Annabelle Hardy & Will Mills

2020 Junior School Council

Our Junior School Council for 2020 are: 

Ellie Conway

Chloe Chase

Cooper Pakan

Aster Moles

Mila Mohr

Matilda Jefford

Charlie Isaac

Beau Wrigley

Olivia Ambler

Brooke Van Hout

2020 Green Team

This year we are excited to announce that there will be 2 Green Teams at YPS. There was an increased desire to be a part of the Green Team from students across the school and having 2 teams allows for us to cater to the growing excitement and passion from the students. This year, Mrs Kate Ray joins the Green Team as the Junior Green Team Coordinator. Ms Kalinda Grant will be leading the senior students as the Senior Green Team Coordinator. 

At the beginning of 2020, students were asked to consider if they would like to be a part of the Yarragon Primary School Green Team. In the 3-6 classes alone, we had 90 students put their hand up for the opportunity. We knew that choosing just 25 from this cohort of students was going to be tough, so we asked the students to write a written application to support their nomination. 47 applications were received from this group of students and after many hours of reading applications and weighing up the criteria, 25 were chosen for the Senior Green Team. 

Students in the F-2 grades were also asked to submit an application which included a picture of themselves 'being green' or helping the Green Team, along with 1-2 sentences describing why they want to be involved. From these applications 14 students were chosen from grades 1 and 2, with the remaining 6 positions being left open for Foundation students to join in Semester 2.

Our Green Team for 2020 are: 

Junior Green Team - Wildlife Warriors F-2

Mav Veli

Ava Mullen

Kyron Havis

Anika Patel

Bridget Riddle

Billie Wedrowicz

Jacob Landmeter

Harley Mohr

Mary Auchettl

Ebony Simpson

Riley Moles

Alexis Beales

Cameron Elkington

Foundation students to join in semester 2 - yet to be chosen.

Senior Green Team - Eco Warriors 3-6

Shilah Doyle

Anton Istraty

Eagle Bradley

Brodie Forrest

Mila Mohr

Alexander Woodbridge

Izzy Smith

Makayla Cumming

Mia Garrett

Charlotte Kemp

Archie Stubbs

Aisha Smith

Keeley Alexander

Tiffany Allen

Savannah Heussmann

Annabelle Hardy

Eleanor Wirken

Ryan van de Burgt

Tom Brown

Charlie Isaacs

Rodney Thompson

Rubie Ostojic

Amelia Ramadge

Emma Thompson

Matilda Jefford

© 2018 by Yarragon Primary School. Proudly created with

  • w-facebook